Since 2012 I've also tried Juice Plus (it did nothing but give me gas), learned to make yummy raw foods at a "Raw Trainer" training, worked out with a personal trainer, and learned a bit about mindful eating. I can LEARN all I want to, but the LIVING it is a totally different story. The part of me that wants to lose weight is controlled by a different part of my brain than the part that sees pizza and goes, "Eat that as fast as you can NOW." Our base animal programming is hard to overcome.
I have books by doctors, and by raw foodies and vegans. I've sought advice from personal trainers, wellness coaches, and psychologists, even looked into what the field of ayurveda would recommend I do to lose weight (I'm a "kapha" btw). I don't understand why there isn't a BA or MA in Personal Weight Management, and why insurance companies don't help with the costs of losing weight and maintaining that loss. Helping people lose weight with the power of knowledge from multiple disciplines is what's needed in this country. There should be a profession that brings together the science based information of what works for weight loss and maintenance from all the relevant specialities: Nutrition, exercise, and psychology. Then all aspects of the obesity problem can be addressed. Each overweight person can then be helped wholistically.
