So, like most women who’ve battled with their weight, I’ve tried many different diet plans. All that information is swimming around in my brain now, confusing me if I think about it too much. Is Paleo the way to go (no grains, beans, or dairy)????? Or the South Beach way (low carb)??? Volumetrics (lots of watery, fibrous things; few calorie dense things)??? Weight Watchers (anything goes so long as it’s written down in your journal and all “points” have been accounted for)???? It all makes me feel like this: How about if I just stop eating altogether so I don’t have to worry about it anymore?
Probably the most extreme way of eating that I tried was veganism. In case you aren't familiar with it, it means eating no animal products at all. It had the uh…..most humorous effect of all the cuisines I’ve tried. Warning: My definition of funny includes potty humor. I was inspired by Dr. Neal Barnard’s book, Food for Life. I found it to be a lot of work, lots of chopping of vegetables and cooking. I only lasted about a month or 2 on that one. But the positives were that I dropped 10 pounds without even trying, and I had boundless energy in the mornings. Being more of a night owl, that was really a different experience for me. I haven’t had so much energy in the morning ever before or since then. It’s weird that digesting animal products takes so much energy out of you, but it does.
Now, the moment you’ve been waiting for: The Potty Humor. (To my husband: you may want to skip this paragraph) All that fiber does something to a person, specifically to your gut. It tends to generate lots of gas. And poor me, I had 2 jobs where I was up and moving around a lot. I’ll leave the description there. So veganism wins the prize for having the most embarrassing effect on me too. But the bottom line is that I just plain old NEED a real hamburger sometimes (not to mention cheese, ice cream, shrimp, and, and......), so veganism be damned.